Headlines and News

PDF Print E-mail




Linda A. Oberhaus

Executive Director

Linda Oberhaus currently serves as the Executive Director for The Shelter for Abused Women & Children in Naples, Florida and has 25 years of professional experience in the human services field. She previously served as the Executive Director for The Spring of Tampa Bay, Florida’s largest domestic violence center.


Ms. Oberhaus earned her Masters degree of Social Work from the University of South Florida and completed executive education programs in leadership development and nonprofit management at Eckerd College, Harvard Business School and Harvard Kennedy School. Ms. Oberhaus has served on the Board of Directors for the President’s Family Justice Center initiative, the Florida Coalition Against Domestic Violence, and the Homeless Coalition of Hillsborough County.


Ms. Oberhaus was born in Massachusetts and relocated to Tampa in 1982 where she resided for 25 years before relocating to Naples in 2007. She is a proud graduate of Leadership Hillsborough and Leadership Collier.



Lisa Fasanella
Director of Programs

Lisa brings more than 17 years of diverse experience to her role overseeing The Shelter's program and services, including the organization's emergency shelter, transitional housing, Immokalee and Naples Outreach Offices.


Prior to joining The Shelter, she served as Program Manager for the Florida Assertive Community Treatment (FACT) Program in Collier County. Additionally, she has direct experience in management, budgeting, clinical settings and individualized care.


A graduate of the University of New Hampshire, BS in Family and Consumer Studies, and The College of New Jersey, Masters in Mental Health Counseling, she is a Licensed Mental Health Counselor and member of the American Counseling Association.




Cyndi Fields

Director of Development

As the Director of Development, Cyndi oversees all aspects of philanthropy for The Shelter for Abused Women & Children and holds a CFRE designation (Certified Fundraising Executive) and CFRM from the Indiana School of Philanthropy. In addition, she was chosen as the Outstanding Fundraising Professional in 2011 and also a Woman of Power in that same year.  A past President of the Association of Fundraising Professionals Everglades Chapter, she is also a 2006 Leadership Collier graduate. 


Cyndi joined The Shelter in July 2000. During her tenure, she has had an opportunity to play an integral role in the growth and development of the organization.

Prior to joining The Shelter, she worked in the sales and banking arenas. Cyndi holds a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Public Address and Communication Arts.



Julie Franklin

Director of Operations

As The Shelter for Abused Women & Children’s director of operations, Julie is responsible for facilities management, security, human resources, finance and grant reporting. 

Julie graduated cum laude from Kent State University in 2003 with a Bachelor of Business degree in accounting. She earned her fifth year from Florida Gulf Coast University while studying for her Master’s degree in accounting and taxation.


After graduating from Kent State, Julie worked for a public accounting firm in Ashtabula, Ohio. She then relocated to Florida after accepting the CFO position of a newly established corporation that grew into a 27-location retail enterprise. She led the accounting, human resources and operations departments during her two-year tenure. Julie then joined a public accounting firm, leading its non-profit auditing department for the next six years while also pursuing her CPA certification. Julie’s strong combination of public and private experience, as well as her expertise in non-profit accounting and management, results in strategic insights that allow her to consistently deliver innovative, value-added solutions to The Shelter.



Board of Directors

Linda Hinds, Chair

Dave Maksymetz, Vice Chair


Bill Waltrip, Secretary

Scott Herstin, Treasurer


Arlene Shapiro, Past Chair


Tom Brand

Christy Carpenter

Lacey King

Dennis Ling

Rich Montecalvo

Dr. Kamela Patton

Sheriff Kevin Rambosk

Bob Tarter

Chief Tom Weschler

Karen Smith

Laurie Zone-Smith

Board of Trustees

Lacey King, Chair
JoAnn Remington, Past Chair

Erika Aron

Bette Aymar
Michael Benson

Warner Blow

Bob Cahners
Carol Dinardo
Terry Edwards
Dona Erkenbeck

Kathy Feinstein
Christine Flynn
Grace Frey

Dr. Barbara Jordan

Suzie Lount

Annette Pakula

Dylan Sanders

Glen Schwesinger

Niki Thompson

Donna Waltrip

Gail S. T. Webster



Guild Executive Committee

Niki Thompson, President

Pat Wheeler, First Vice President

Linda Sims, Second Vice President

Joanne Fowler, Secretary

Cindy Potter, Asst. Secretary

Peg Melillo, Treasurer

Christine Flynn, Past President

Cara Martin, Membership Chair



Next Generation Committee

Caroline Ridgway, Co-Chair

Dave Anderson, Co-Chair

Scott Blackburn

Joe Charles

Grace Frey

Chrissi Hadley

Heather Hobrock

Kristine Meek

Gina Paddock

Peter Paddock

Joe Salvati

Glen Schwesinger

Joie Wilson

Community Advisory Committee

Deborah Trinka, Chair

Wilma Boyd

Kellie Burns

Shelly Davis

Linda O. Flores

Donna Gillroy

Jessica Horowitz

Kathy Karpovich

Trudy Labell

Janet Lee

Shelley Lund Hobbs

Michele McKenney

Lisa Mead

Patricia Murphy

Brenda O'Connor

Courtney Ott

JoAnn Remington

Cherry Smith

Kathleen van Bergen

Sandi Wilson

Rabbi Fishel Zaklos